COVID-19 Reponse
CDC COVID-19 Community Level = Low; masks optional indoors. Learn more >>
Learn how Pitt-Greensburg is building a healthy and resilient community.

Campus History

Old photograph of Lynch Hall, Circa 1923

Announced by University of Pittsburgh Chancellor Edward Litchfield on October 10, 1962, the campus began operations initially as a two-year institution on September 3, 1963, in the Vogel building, located in downtown Greensburg.

Stained glass seal of the University of Pittsburgh at GreensburgOn June 29, 1964, the Charles Lynch Estate was purchased. Construction on the building that was to become Smith Hall started 10 years later. A proposal to change the program from lower to upper division was submitted to the State Department of Education. In 1988, the Board of Trustees awarded degree-granting status to Pitt-Greensburg. Pitt-Greensburg now offers over 30 degree programs and numerous minors and pre-professional programs. The campus serves over 1,500 students.

The newest building, Frank A. Cassell Hall, is the campus’ first sustainable building. The building holds a LEED certification. Cassell Hall houses the IT and computer center. It also contains faculty offices and classrooms, as well as spaces for study and relaxation. Millstein Library's new multimedia lab provides state-of-the-art digital equipment to use to further enhance the educational experience.

The campus commitment to the academic experience is evident in the 16 faculty members who have received the Chancellor’s Award for Distinguished Teaching. The physical campus has changed considerably from the original. There are now 26 brick buildings located on a lovely wooded campus.

Visit CampusExplore Academic ProgramsOur Leadership

Entrance of campus with fountain and brick lightpost wall